Sales and Operations Planning

We’ll increase your forecast quality and delivery reliability.

Optimal alignment of supply chain networks

Improved planning and higher delivery reliability through coordinated sales and operations planning

Consistent operational planning – Sales and Operations Planning – is necessary to control and target complex supply chain networks.

Against the background of increasing fluctuations in sales and procurement markets, you cannot maintain delivery reliability with simultaneous cost efficiency without overarching planning. We’ll help you with the introduction and implementation of an S&OP concept. 

We’ll support you in developing an individual S&OP concept

  • The conception of an individual S&OP process
  • Introduction and piloting taking into account the procedural and organizational framework conditions
  • Digital transformation of S&OP and digital interfaces
  • Vendor-independent software selection and implementation

What are the reasons for dealing with Sales and Operations Planning?

In practice, planning is often impaired by systemic or procedural weaknesses, which is time-consuming and costly. This can include inefficient support from the IT systems, a lack of system integration or a lack of cooperation across departmental and national borders. 

The obvious problems then show up in backlogs, dissatisfied customers due to poor delivery performance, high inventories, cash-flow problems and “finger-pointing” to the other departments. An overarching process for sales and operations planning enables the weak points to be brought under control and the quality of planning to be improved.  

S&OP Tools und Software

Advice

If the S&OP processes are successfully introduced, the sales data can be compared with the production data on a rolling basis. There are different approaches to supporting this process with software. We would be happy to advise you independently on the current solutions on the market.

Our objectives 

Sales & Operations Planning (S&OP) is a holistic process for cross-departmental and cross-location corporate management. The result is a binding production and delivery plan coordinated with all areas. The planning frequency and the planning horizon depend on the specifics of the industry. Short product life cycles and high volatility in demand require a tighter S&OP than products with constant consumption. If implemented successfully, the S&OP process also enables effective supply chain management.

S&OP can be tracked on three levels: operational, tactical and strategic. An exchange of information, decisions and data takes place between these levels. 

 


Success factors

What are the biggest advantages of a functioning S&OP?
  • Higher delivery reliability with simultaneously lower finished stocks at make-to-stock companies
  • Higher delivery reliability with simultaneously lower backlogs and shorter delivery times for make-to-order companies
  • More stable production rates and less overtime, which leads to higher productivity
  • Increased visibility of future capacity problems
  • Improved cooperation between the responsible areas (sales, operations, controlling, product development)
  • The regular and joint updating of the planning leads to a uniform, improved and more reliable forecast.

S&OP

Take away

The digital transformation of S&OP is of great importance for target accuracy and effectiveness. A cross-departmental analysis and digital reporting then lead to a coordinated production and delivery plan.

Scroll to Top

Sales and Operations Planning

Wir steigern Ihre Forecast-Güte und Liefertreue.

Optimale Ausrichtung von Supply Chain Netzwerken

Verbesserte Planung und höhere Liefertreue durch ein abgestimmtes Sales & Operations Planning 

Zur Steuerung und zieltechnischen Ausrichtung von komplexen Supply Chain Netzwerken ist eine durchgängige betriebliche Planung – Sales & Operations Planning – notwendig.

Vor dem Hintergrund immer stärkerer Schwankungen von Absatz- und Beschaffungsmärkten kann die Liefertreue mit gleichzeitiger Kosteneffizienz nicht ohne eine übergreifende Planung hochgehalten werden. Wir helfen Ihnen bei der Einführung und Umsetzung eines S&OP Konzeptes. 

Wir unterstützen Sie bei der Entwicklung eines individuellen S&OP-Konzeptes

  • Konzeptionierung eines individuellen S&OP Prozesses 
  • Einführung und Pilotierung unter Berücksichtigung der prozessualen und organisatorischen Rahmenbedingungen 
  • Digitale Transformation von S&OP und digitale Schnittstellen
  • Anbieterunabhängige Softwareauswahl und -einführung 

Welche Gründe gibt es sich mit dem Sales & Operations Planning zu beschäftigen? 

In der Praxis wird die Planung oftmals durch systemische oder prozessuale Schwachstellen beeinträchtigt, was zeit- und kostenintensiv ist. Dazu kann eine ineffiziente Unterstützung durch die IT-Systeme zählen, eine fehlende System-Integration oder mangelnde Zusammenarbeit über Abteilungs- und Ländergrenzen hinweg.  

Die offensichtlichen Probleme zeigen sich dann durch Rückstände, unzufriedene Kunden aufgrund schlechter Lieferperformance, hohen Beständen, cash-flow Problemen und „finger pointing“ auf die anderen Abteilungen. Durch einen übergreifenden Prozess zum Sales & Operations Planning lassen sich die Schwachstellen in den Griff bekommen und die Planungsgüte verbessern.   

S&OP Tools und Software

Beratung

Bei erfolgreicher Einführung der S&OP Prozesse werden die Sales-Daten den Produktionsdaten rollierend gegenüber gestellt. Dazu gibt es unterschiedliche Ansätze, diesen Prozess über Software zu unterstützen. Wir beraten Sie gerne unabhängig zu den aktuellen Lösungen am Markt. 

Was ist unser Verständnis? 

Sales & Operations Planning (S&OP) ist ein gesamtheitlicher Prozess zur abteilungs- und standortübergreifenden Unternehmenssteuerung. Daraus resultiert als Ergebnis ein verbindlicher, mit allen Bereichen abgestimmter Produktions- und Lieferplan. Die Planungshäufigkeit und der Planungshorizont hängen von den Spezifika der Branche ab. Kurze Produktlebenszyklen und eine hohe Volatilität der Nachfrage erfordern ein engeres S&OP als Produkte mit konstantem Verbrauch. Bei einer erfolgreichen Umsetzung, ermöglicht der S&OP-Prozess auch ein effektives Supply Chain Management.

 S&OP kann über drei Ebenen verfolgt werden: operativ, taktisch und strategisch. Zwischen diesen Ebenen findet ein Austausch von Informationen, Entscheidungen und Daten statt. 

 


Faktoren des Erfolgs

Was sind die größten Vorteile eines funtionierenden S&OP? 
  • Eine höhere Liefertreue mit gleichzeitig geringeren Fertiglagerbeständen bei Make-to-Stock Unternehmen 
  • Eine höhere Liefertreue mit gleichzeitig geringeren Rückständen und geringeren Lieferzeiten bei Make-to-Order Unternehmen 
  • Stabilere Produktionsraten und weniger Überstunden, was zu einer höheren Produktivität führt 
  • Erhöhte Sichtbarkeit von zukünftigen Kapazitätsproblemen 
  • Verbesserte Zusammenarbeit zwischen den verantwortlichen Bereichen (Sales, Operations, Controlling, Produktentwicklung) 
  • Die regelmäßige und gemeinsame Aktualisierung der Planung führt zu einem einheitlichen, verbesserten und zuverlässigerem Forecast. 

S&OP

Take away

Die digitale Transformation von S&OP ist für die Zielgenauigkeit und Wirkungskraft von großer Bedeutung. Eine abteilungsübergreifende Analyse und digitales Reporting führen dann zu einem abgestimmten Produktions- und Lieferplan.

Scroll to Top