Make or Buy

We compare the advantages and disadvantages of in-house production and external procurement.

In-house production or external procurement

Make or buy

Manufacturing companies are coming under increasing pressure to reduce their manufacturing costs in order to keep up with competitors in the price war. Therefore, companies are often confronted with “make or buy” decisions because suppliers in Eastern Europe, China, or other low-cost regions promise considerable price advantages that many companies in industrialized countries cannot offer.

Thus, companies are faced with deciding about their ideal vertical range of manufacture (link) in production and assembly or consider outsourcing services, such as selected logistics services.

We support you in the decision to make or buy

  • Total cost of ownership analysis
  • Identification of potential outsourcing products
  • Core competence analysis
  • Bottleneck identification
  • Risk analysis
  • Quality requirements analysis
Structuring the influencing factors for the right decision

What are our objectives?

Make-or-buy (MoB) refers to a decision between in-house production and external procurement. It is essential to consider a long-term strategic orientation and not just focus on short-term cost advantages. In a strategic make-or-buy decision, in addition to the financial aspects, other influencing factors such as quality, the risk of loss of know-how or the degree of flexibility when adapting processes are taken into account. In addition, MoB decisions are not only limited to the production area but can also include logistics services, IT services or other services.

Why is this topic so important?

Over the last few decades, the focus has increasingly shifted to concentrating on core competencies and reducing the vertical range of manufacture. However, before a company gives up in-house production, it should objectively determine its core competencies and strategically evaluate them using a portfolio analysis. However, the mere comparison of procurement and production costs does not lead to long-term success for your company and the entire supply chain. That is why one cannot assess fundamental decisions about in-house production (make) or external production (buy) solely on the basis of monetary factors; instead, a long-term strategic decision is required.

Factors of success

Existing products are analyzed with regard to various characteristics in order to identify potential candidates for outsourcing. In addition to factors that can be assessed in monetary terms, which can be assessed using a total cost of ownership analysis, for example, soft factors such as quality requirements are also taken into account.

Another step in a make-or-buy decision is to examine current and future bottlenecks within your production. We also check which risks can arise when outsourcing and which products belong to your core competencies so that they can continue to be kept internal in the future. We are happy to support you with our experience in this area when deciding whether to produce in-house or outsource. 

Was sind die größten Fehler bei der Entscheidung Make or buy?

Only factors that can be assessed in monetary terms are assessed; further factors are disregarded.

Make or buy

Take away

ifp consulting supports you in deciding which products should be manufactured in-house or purchased from third parties in the future.


Scroll to Top

Make or Buy

Wir stellen die Vor- und Nachteile von Eigenfertigung und Fremdbezug gegenüber.

Eigenfertigung oder Fremdbezug

Make or buy

Produzierende Unternehmen geraten zunehmend unter Druck ihre eigenen Fertigungskosten zu senken, um mit Wettbewerbern im Preiskampf mithalten zu können. Daher werden Unternehmen häufig mit „Make or Buy“-Entscheidungen konfrontiert, weil Zulieferer in Osteuropa, China oder anderen Low-Cost-Regionen erhebliche preisliche Vorteile versprechen, die viele Betriebe in den Industrieländern nicht bieten können.

Somit stehen Unternehmen vor der Entscheidung über ihre ideale Fertigungstiefe (Link) in Produktion und Montage oder überlegen Dienstleistungen outzusourcen, wie zum Beispiel ausgewählte Logistikleistungen. 

Wir unterstützen Sie bei der Entscheidung Make or buy

  • Total-Cost-of-Ownership-Analyse  
  • Identifikation potenzieller Fremdvergabe-Produkte 
  • Kernkompetenz-Analyse  
  • Engpassidentifikation 
  • Risikoanalyse 
  • Qualitätsanforderungsanalyse 
Durch Strukturierung der Einflussfaktoren zur richtigen Entscheidung

Was ist unser Verständnis? 

Unter Make-or-Buy (MoB) wird eine Entscheidung zwischen Eigenfertigung und Fremdbezug verstanden. Wichtig ist die Berücksichtigung einer langfristigen strategischen Ausrichtung und nicht die ausschließliche Konzentration auf kurzfristige Kostenvorteile. Dabei werden bei einer strategischen Make-or-Buy-Entscheidung neben den finanziellen Aspekten weitere Einflussfaktoren, wie Qualität, das Risiko von Know-How Verlust oder das Maß an Flexibilität bei der Anpassung von Prozessen, berücksichtigt. Zudem sind MoB-Entscheidungen nicht nur allein auf den Produktionsbereich beschränkt, sondern können auch Logistikleistungen, IT-Leistungen oder andere Dienstleistungen umfassen. 

Welche Gründe gibt es sich mit dem Thema zu beschäftigen?  

In den letzten Jahrzehnten rückte immer mehr die Konzentration auf die Kernkompetenzen und Verringerung der Fertigungstiefe in den Fokus. Jedoch bevor ein Unternehmen die Eigenfertigung aufgibt, sollte es objektiv seine Kernkompetenzen ermitteln und über eine Portfolio-Analyse strategisch bewerten. Der alleinige Vergleich von Beschaffungs- und Fertigungskosten führt jedoch langfristig zu keinem Erfolg für Ihr Unternehmen und die gesamte Supply Chain. Deswegen kann die grundlegende Entscheidung über die Eigenfertigung (Make) oder die Fremdfertigung (Buy) nicht allein anhand von monetären Faktoren bewertet werden, vielmehr ist eine langfristige strategische Entscheidung erforderlich.  

Faktoren des Erfolgs

Bestehende Produkte werden hinsichtlich verschiedener Merkmale analysiert, um potenzielle Kandidaten für die Fremdvergabe zu identifizieren. Neben monetär bewertbaren Faktoren, die z.B. anhand einer Total-Cost-of-Ownership-Analyse bewertet werden können, werden auch weiche Faktoren, wie die Qualitätsanforderungen berücksichtigt.

Ein weiterer Schritt bei einer Make-or-Buy-Entscheidung ist die Prüfung von aktuellen und zukünftigen Engpässen innerhalb ihrer Produktion. Zusätzlich checken wir welche Risiken bei der Fremdvergabe auftreten können und welche Produkte zu Ihren Kernkompetenzen gehören, damit diese zukünftig auch weiterhin intern gehalten werden können. Gerne unterstützen wir Sie mit unserer Erfahrung in diesem Bereich bei der Entscheidung über Eigenfertigung oder Fremdvergabe. 

Was sind die größten Fehler bei der Entscheidung Make or buy?

Es werden nur die monetär bewertbaren Faktoren bewertet, weitere Faktoren werden außer acht gelassen.

Make or buy

Take away

ifp consulting unterstützt Sie bei der Entscheidung, welche Produkte zukünftig eigengefertigt oder fremdbezogen werden sollen.


Scroll to Top